Coverart for item
The Resource Impounded : Dorothea Lange and the censored images of Japanese American internment, Dorothea Lange ; ed. by Linda Gordon and Gary Y. Okihiro

Impounded : Dorothea Lange and the censored images of Japanese American internment, Dorothea Lange ; ed. by Linda Gordon and Gary Y. Okihiro

Label
Impounded : Dorothea Lange and the censored images of Japanese American internment
Title
Impounded
Title remainder
Dorothea Lange and the censored images of Japanese American internment
Statement of responsibility
Dorothea Lange ; ed. by Linda Gordon and Gary Y. Okihiro
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • Censored by the U.S. Army, Dorothea Lange's unseen photographs are the photographic record of the Japanese American internment saga. This indelible work of visual and social history confirms Dorothea Lange's stature as one of the twentieth century's greatest American photographers. Presenting 119 images--the majority of which have never been published--this book evokes the horror of a community uprooted in the early 1940s and the stark reality of the internment camps. Nationally known historians Linda Gordon and Gary Okihiro narrate the saga of Japanese American internment: from life before Executive Order 9066 to the abrupt roundups and the marginal existence in the bleak, sandswept camps.--From publisher description
  • " Censored by the U.S. Army, Dorothea Lange's unseen photographs are the extraordinary photographic record of the Japanese American internment saga. This indelible work of visual and social history confirms Dorothea Lange's stature as one of the twentieth century's greatest American photographers. Presenting 119 images originally censored by the U.S. Army--the majority of which have never been published--Impounded evokes the horror of a community uprooted in the early 1940s and the stark reality of the internment camps. With poignancy and sage insight, nationally known historians Linda Gordon and Gary Okihiro illuminate the saga of Japanese American internment: from life before Executive Order 9066 to the abrupt roundups and the marginal existence in the bleak, sandswept camps. In the tradition of Roman Vishniac's A Vanished World, Impounded, with the immediacy of its photographs, tells the story of the thousands of lives unalterably shattered by racial hatred brought on by the passions of war."--Publisher's website
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Lange, Dorothea
Dewey number
940.53/089/956073
Illustrations
  • illustrations
  • maps
Index
no index present
LC call number
D769.8.A6
LC item number
L35 2006
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorDate
1945-
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
  • Gordon, Linda
  • Okihiro, Gary Y.
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Japanese Americans
  • World War, 1939-1945
  • Censorship
Label
Impounded : Dorothea Lange and the censored images of Japanese American internment, Dorothea Lange ; ed. by Linda Gordon and Gary Y. Okihiro
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 201-203)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Dorothea Lange photographs the Japanese American internment / Linda Gordon -- An American story / Gary Y. Okihiro -- Photographs: Before the evacuation -- The roundup -- At the assembly centers -- Manzanar -- Acknowledgments --Bibliography
Control code
60557546
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
1st ed.
Extent
205 pages
Isbn
9780393060737
Lccn
2005049835
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other control number
9780393060737
Other physical details
illustrations, map
Label
Impounded : Dorothea Lange and the censored images of Japanese American internment, Dorothea Lange ; ed. by Linda Gordon and Gary Y. Okihiro
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 201-203)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Dorothea Lange photographs the Japanese American internment / Linda Gordon -- An American story / Gary Y. Okihiro -- Photographs: Before the evacuation -- The roundup -- At the assembly centers -- Manzanar -- Acknowledgments --Bibliography
Control code
60557546
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
1st ed.
Extent
205 pages
Isbn
9780393060737
Lccn
2005049835
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other control number
9780393060737
Other physical details
illustrations, map

Library Locations

    • Thomas Jefferson LibraryBorrow it
      1 University Blvd, St. Louis, MO, 63121, US
      38.710138 -90.311107
Processing Feedback ...