Coverart for item
The Resource Like a fiery elephant : the story of B.S. Johnson, Jonathan Coe

Like a fiery elephant : the story of B.S. Johnson, Jonathan Coe

Label
Like a fiery elephant : the story of B.S. Johnson
Title
Like a fiery elephant
Title remainder
the story of B.S. Johnson
Statement of responsibility
Jonathan Coe
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "Like a Fiery Elephant tells the story of B.S. Johnson, one of Britain's most productive, passionate, and controversial writers of the 1960s and 70s. Johnson was an unflinching advocate for the avant-garde in both literature and film, and he held some strong (some would say extreme) views on the future of the novel. Working firmly in the tradition of Sterne, Joyce, and Beckett, he was determined to reinvent the novel with each attempt. His innovations included a book with holes cut through the pages (Albert Angelo) and - most famously - a novel published in a box so that its unbound chapters could be shuffled and read in any order (The Unfortunates)."
  • "The story of Johnson's life is fascinating enough - involving, as it does, parental abandonment during World War II, encounters with a mysterious poetic goddess in Wales, brushes with the British Secret Service, and a trail of exasperated editors, publishers, and agents, all of whom were unable to match Johnson's boundless energy and recklessly high standards."--Jacket
Biography type
individual biography
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Coe, Jonathan
Dewey number
  • 823/.912
  • B
Illustrations
  • illustrations
  • plates
Index
index present
LC call number
PR6060.O3
LC item number
Z64 2005
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Experimental fiction, English
  • Novelists, English
  • Johnson, B. S.
Label
Like a fiery elephant : the story of B.S. Johnson, Jonathan Coe
Instantiates
Publication
Note
Originally published: London : Picador, 2004
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 455-474) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
57625618
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
1st U.S. ed.
Extent
486 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates
Isbn
9780826417350
Isbn Type
(hardcover : alk. paper)
Lccn
2005003277
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations
Label
Like a fiery elephant : the story of B.S. Johnson, Jonathan Coe
Publication
Note
Originally published: London : Picador, 2004
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 455-474) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
57625618
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
1st U.S. ed.
Extent
486 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates
Isbn
9780826417350
Isbn Type
(hardcover : alk. paper)
Lccn
2005003277
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations

Library Locations

    • Thomas Jefferson LibraryBorrow it
      1 University Blvd, St. Louis, MO, 63121, US
      38.710138 -90.311107
Processing Feedback ...