Coverart for item
The Resource Men, women, and aggression, Anne Campbell

Men, women, and aggression, Anne Campbell

Label
Men, women, and aggression
Title
Men, women, and aggression
Statement of responsibility
Anne Campbell
Creator
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
"Why are men more aggressive than women? To find out, psychologist and criminologist Anne Campbell listened to the voices of ordinary men and women, as well as people for whom aggression is a central fact of life - robbers and gang members. The answer, she argues, lies not only in biology or in child rearing but in how men and women form opinions about their own aggression. Women believe their aggression results from a loss of self-control, while men see their behavior as a means of gaining control over others. Daughters are deeply ashamed when they get angry, but sons learn to associate aggression with integrity, courage, and triumph." "Campbell shows how men's and women's different views of anger and restraint profoundly affect their actions - from rage in marriage to violence in the streets - and what this means for us all. The misreading of the meaning of aggression drives a wedge between the sexes, affecting everything from their ability to communicate with each other to the way that traditionally male-dominated spheres such as law or medicine pathologize and punish women's aggression." "The book draws together two research areas that have had little dialogue with one another - aggression and gender differences - to present for the first time a theory of their interrelationship. The book also reveals the links between criminal violence and psychological processes common to all of us." "A major contribution in the tradition of You Just Don't Understand and In a Different Voice, this book offers a new understanding of a vital issue."--Jacket
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1951-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Campbell, Anne
Index
index present
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Aggressiveness
  • Sex differences (Psychology)
  • Aggression
  • Men
  • Social Behavior
  • Women
Label
Men, women, and aggression, Anne Campbell
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 161-190) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Cultural lessons in aggression -- Boys, girls, and aggression -- Fighting aggression : women and anger -- Fair game and fair fights : aggression among men -- Gender and the shape of aggression -- Robbery -- Intimate rage : violence in marriage -- Street gangs -- Women's aggression and the male establishment
Control code
26356669
Dimensions
25 cm
Extent
xi, 196 pages
Isbn
9780465092178
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(WaOLN)1515913
Label
Men, women, and aggression, Anne Campbell
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 161-190) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Cultural lessons in aggression -- Boys, girls, and aggression -- Fighting aggression : women and anger -- Fair game and fair fights : aggression among men -- Gender and the shape of aggression -- Robbery -- Intimate rage : violence in marriage -- Street gangs -- Women's aggression and the male establishment
Control code
26356669
Dimensions
25 cm
Extent
xi, 196 pages
Isbn
9780465092178
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(WaOLN)1515913

Library Locations

    • Thomas Jefferson LibraryBorrow it
      1 University Blvd, St. Louis, MO, 63121, US
      38.710138 -90.311107
Processing Feedback ...