Coverart for item
The Resource Murder in the telephone exchange, June Wright, (electronic resource)

Murder in the telephone exchange, June Wright, (electronic resource)

Label
Murder in the telephone exchange
Title
Murder in the telephone exchange
Statement of responsibility
June Wright
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "First published in 1948, when it was the best-selling mystery of the year in the author's native Australia, Murder in the Telephone Exchange stars feisty young operator Maggie Byrnes. When one of her more unpopular colleagues is murdered - her head bashed in with a "buttinsky," a piece of equipment used to listen in on phone calls - Maggie resolves to turn sleuth. Some of her coworkers are acting strangely, and Maggie is convinced she has a better chance of figuring out who is responsible for the killing than the rather stolid police team assigned to the case, who seem to think she herself might have had something to do with it. But then one of her friends is murdered too, and it looks like Maggie might be next. Narrated with verve and wit, this is a whodunit in the tradition of Dorothy L. Sayers and Daphne du Maurier, by turns entertaining and suspenseful, and building to a gripping climax."--
  • "A mystery novel set in Melbourne's Central Telephone Exchange in the late 1940s"--
Related
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1919-2012
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Wright, June
Dewey number
823/.912
LC call number
PR9619.3.W727
LC item number
M87 2013
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women detectives
  • Murder
  • Melbourne (Vic.)
  • FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
  • FICTION / Mystery & Detective / General
Label
Murder in the telephone exchange, June Wright, (electronic resource)
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OCM1bookssj0001181646
Dimensions
unknown
Isbn
9781891241376
Isbn Type
(pbk.)
Lccn
2013043859
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
(WaSeSS)bookssj0001181646
Label
Murder in the telephone exchange, June Wright, (electronic resource)
Publication
Control code
OCM1bookssj0001181646
Dimensions
unknown
Isbn
9781891241376
Isbn Type
(pbk.)
Lccn
2013043859
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
(WaSeSS)bookssj0001181646

Library Locations

    • Thomas Jefferson LibraryBorrow it
      1 University Blvd, St. Louis, MO, 63121, US
      38.710138 -90.311107
Processing Feedback ...